ETIAS for Spain

Travel information regarding the ETIAS Spain, for those traveling to Spain and/or other European countries and the Schengen Area.

Read about the European Travel Information and Authorisation System, ETIAS, and find out who needs an ETIAS visa waiver. Furthermore, learn how the ETIAS system works and why the travel authorization could affect your travel plans if planning to travel to Europe.

For those planning to visit Spain, learn about the ETIAS Spain and who is eligible for the EU visa waiver.

What is ETIAS?

etias spain
The ETIAS was set forward and approved within the year of 2016 and the European Commission has since announced that it will come into effect in late 2022. It is a similar travel authorization scheme to those of the United States (ESTA; Electronic System for Travel Authorization) and other countries.

The aim of the ETIAS is to provide Europe with better protection, security, and border control. ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorisation System) is a new system which aims to come into force in late 2022 and will monitor European border control and security within the Schengen Area.

Once ETIAS comes into place, travelers will have to apply for an ETIAS in order to enter a European country that is a member of the Schengen Zone, such as Spain. The EU visa waiver has been specially designed to identify possible risks or threats to Europe that may arise due to various reasons such as visitors entering or traveling without the Schengen Zone.

Regardless as to whether or not you currently need an EU visa waiver to enter Spain or other European member countries, after the end of 2022, travelers will be expected to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver in order to be able to travel in Spain and other EU countries.
ETIAS Spain Application

Who needs an ETIAS visa waiver to travel to Spain?

At present, there are 26 European member countries that form the Schengen Area. Therefore, travelers will require an ETIAS visa waiver to enter most parts of Europe and not just Spain.

At least 60 different countries will be eligible to apply for an ETIAS Spain and additional countries are expected to be added to the list of eligibility. The ETIAS visa waiver will have a standard validity of up to 90 days and visitors traveling for both touristic and business purposes will be expected to apply for the travel authorization.

It is expected that additional countries will be listed as eligible for ETIAS Spain in the future.

How does the ETIAS system work?

ETIAS applicants will be able to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver online via an online application form. There will be certain requirements that applicants will have to meet in order to receive an approved ETIAS:

  • All applicants must possess a valid passport
  • The application form must include a valid email address listed
  • Applicants should pay the ETIAS visa waiver online using a valid debit or credit card

The online ETIAS application form consists of basic information such as personal details. Applicants will also be expected to fill out their passport details and answer some simple health and security questions.

ETIAS applications will be checked and scanned across a set of security databases and the approval will be sent by email to applicants’ corresponding email addresses. The types of security databases used for the ETIAS Spain includes EUROPOL DATA, Interpol, VIS and SIS.

Requiring an ETIAS will apply to all visitors, including those on business trips, vacation or merely stopping over on a connection flight. Failure to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver prior to travel could result in denial of entry to Europe, as the system is set to become a mandatory requirement of traveling to Spain or other EU member countries of the Schengen Zone.

Why a travel authorization?

The new EU visa waiver, known as ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorisation System), is set to improve and facilitate the control of incoming and outgoing visitors, as well as aim to keep Europe a safer place for all.

In order to enter a member country of the Schengen Zone, it will be compulsory in late 2022 to enter with a previously approved ETIAS.

The ETIAS scheme is similar to other schemes and travel authorizations that other countries have recently implemented. It is said that it will cover over 30 million people who enter Europe every year for both touristic and business purposes.

travel authorization

It is not yet known as to whether or not Britons will have to pay for an ETIAS or whether they will be granted a visa-exemption through Brexit. It is likely that ETIAS Europe will add more countries to the list of eligible countries for ETIAS application, although it is not yet clear as to which countries. Updates will be published regularly on our website regarding the ETIAS Spain. You can read our news articles to answer your questions or queries, as well as find out more information regarding ETIAS.

By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here, to know more. I agree